Giving back to Alexandria since 1921


Police Officer of the Year

Every year, the Alexandria Kiwanis Club proudly recognizes exemplary performance in professional policing by the Alexandria Police Department. The Police Officer of the Year Award recognizes outstanding or heroic achievement by Alexandria police officers and highlights the sacrifices made daily by the city's finest. This tradition began in 1928 when the club presented a medal to a policeman in recognition of his heroic efforts in saving the life of a child in imminent danger of being run over.

Nominations for the award include a statement of the specific circumstances involving distinguished police performance. Nominations are limited to 1 full typed page and should not omit important information. Supplemental material that enhances and directly supports elements of the nomination, such as citations, letters of commendation, photos and newspaper clippings are considered when selecting an awardee.

Year Awardee Action
2016 Chief Earl L. Cook Over 35 years of service to the Alexandria Police Department
2015 Officer Jeetpal Panesar Outstanding job performance and public service
2014 Sgt. Michael Kochis, Det. Sean Casey, Det. Dave Cutting, & Det. Will Oakley For tireless effort and dedication in solving the Dunning, Kirby, and Lodato homicides
2013 Officers Tony Moore & Jonathan Lopez  
2012 Sgt. Ed Milner & Det. Robert Hickman Dedication to solving the murder of Lenny Harris
2011 Officer Carl Wortham  
2010 Officer Humberto Trapero & Sgt. Christopher Flood  
2009 Officer Terri Mucci  
2008 Officer Jeetpal Panesar Heroic and admiral actions at the scene of a crash involving an overturned vehicle
2007 Officers Patrick Taylor & Ryan Wells  
2006 Officer Sean Casey & Officer Brad Cecchetti  
2005 Officer Angel Semidey  
2004 Inv. Amy Santiago  
2003 Officer Joseph Watson  
2002 Det. Steve Gurdak For his work on a money laundering task force
1998 Officer Kris Gulden  
1994 Officers Lou Florio & Willie McMeans For community policing efforts